Call to Rwanda

I had a wonderful trip to Cuba in March with my daughter’s family.  A conversation with her mother-in-law triggered me to seriously consider a request to speak at a Youth Conference in Rwanda. I was reading  Not Good if Detached, by Corrie tem Boom.  After the conversation, I opened to a chapter called “Obedience”  Corrie felt that God was instructing her to go to Japan. She said, “Yes Lord but I know nobody there; I can’t speak the language, and it is so expensive.”  I realized, the obstacles for me to go to Rwanda were minimal in comparison and felt inspired by her story of God opening the way for her to speak in all the prisons in Japan. I kept praying for guidance and when I returned and checked my email on Monday Night, I had 3 emails about Rwanda, one of them offering points for my flights. After receiving approval from Bishop Jane, The flights were booked,  I was concerned about my energy level but trusted that God would continue to provide what is needed.

Four months later, my energy has returned.  God is so good!  I will be joining Nora and Wendell James from St. Paul’s Anglican Church in Edmonton.  We will travel to Rwanda July 24 – August 8. The team has been invited by Bishop Nathan Amooti to minister at an Anglican Youth Conference for the Diocese of Cyangugu at Christ the King Cathedral in Kamembe/Rusiizi Town and to visit Parishes involved in Micro Finance Programs supported by St. Paul’s. Please pray that God will give us health, strength and everything they need to equip the 200+ youth to be servant leaders for God’s Kingdom in their communities.  It is amazing; I am so excited !!!!

Leave a comment