Begin with Gratitude

Over a year ago, I started having pain in my abdomen and a few other vague symptoms which turned out to be stage 3 ovarian cancer.  During that time I started a CaringBridge page to update family and friends.  It provided a way to share what I was going through and what God was teaching me.  As CS Lewis said, “God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our consciences, but shouts in our pains. It is his megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”

I have mostly recovered, am feeling great and off to Rwanda for a Mission trip on Monday. Using CaringBridge made me think of starting a Blog to pass on some of what I learned while I was sick and to share updates and prayer requests for Rwanda.

I’ve named this blog after 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 Rejoice always, pray continually,  give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. As I began the journey with cancer,  God gave me this guiding Scripture which served as a lens to look through daily, and an outline for my facebook status.

At times even prayer was difficult, sometimes it was simply, “Help!” On the darkest days following chemo, the thought of rejoicing seemed ridiculous.  I had plenty to give thanks for.  My daughters, sisters, and friends made sure I had someone with me during chemo and the days following; I had people praying for me all across Canada and other parts of the world; I received lots of thoughtful cards and gifts; AND  there seemed to be a never-ending supply of yummy home-made soup in my freezer.  My gratitude list led me to rejoice which allowed me to pray.

So if you ever have trouble praying or rejoicing, my encouragement to you is to reverse the order of this scripture. Begin with giving thanks for the people around you, the beauty of creation and God’s amazing love.

I am not sure who will want to read this or how often I will share but welcome to my blog.

2 thoughts on “Begin with Gratitude

  1. Good for you, Amy. I wish you the best on your Rwanda trip. I”m looking forward to some blog posts about it. May the Lord give you health, strength, and stamina while you are there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment